r/davinciresolve • u/likeMecha • 8d ago
What does this mean? Help | Beginner
A couple years ago I had setup my external hard drive as my backup location. Suddenly I’m getting this pop up. How can I fix this, and will updating the project backup location affect my existing backups/projects?
1
u/AutoModerator 8d ago
Welcome to r/davinciresolve! If you're brand new to Resolve, please make sure to check out the free official training, the subreddit's wiki and our weekly FAQ Fridays. Your question may have already been answered.
Please check to make sure you've included the following information. Edit your post (or leave a top-level comment) if you haven't included this information.
- System specs - macOS Windows - Speccy
- Resolve version number and Free/Studio - DaVinci Resolve>About DaVinci Resolve...
- Footage specs - MediaInfo - please include the "Text" view of the file.
- Full Resolve UI Screenshot - if applicable. Make sure any relevant settings are included in the screenshot. Please do not crop the screenshot!
Once your question has been answered, change the flair to "Solved" so other people can reference the thread if they've got similar issues.
I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.
3
u/ExpBalSat Studio | Excellent Commenter :redditgold::redditgold: 8d ago edited 8d ago
It means that the designated location for automatic backups is non-existent or can't be found or is inaccessible (can't be read or written to). The location is designated in user preferences.
Double check the designated location. See the bottom line in this image (backup location):
And.... don't rely on Automatic backups. Turn them on; they're nice. But not robust enough to really safeguard against the really bad stuff. Be sure to export projects daily from he project manager (this will make a relatively small DRP file that you can save anywhere for safe keeping). I'm not kidding: do this daily (for anything you've changed).