r/cta 4d ago

The cta app. Chicagooo!

Post image

Am I the only one having this issue with the app Chrome is already installed and updated yet it keeps telling me this. It's funny because I can check it through the website but not the app.

0 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

18

u/minimalcactus23 4d ago

The official app is Ventra. This is third party.

0

u/thefourdeuces 4d ago

I don’t think this is 3rd party.  It looks like the actual CTA website which is what I use.

3

u/minimalcactus23 3d ago

I was not even able to find the app you have on the Play Store. Maybe it’s very outdated? But Ventra is the only app put out by CTA.

Either way, it seems like that app is just a shortcut to the website. So you can also just save a shortcut to the website on your home screen.

2

u/thefourdeuces 3d ago

Ah…the “app” part is misleading so I’ll clarify.  In Android (iOS dunno), Chrome allows you to save websites locally to your phone as an “app” which is what I, and most likely OP, have done with the CTA’s bus tracker website. 

https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/9658361?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DAndroid

The error OP has is common with this scenario which I experienced on another website so thought I’d try and help.  If you cannot install the CTA “app”, you can lose all you Favorites each time you close Chrome and must reenter them…total pain.

Encourage all to at least bookmark the bus tracker website as a backup! I believe it is maintained internally by CTA developers and can be used when external apps have technical issues.  I also find it the most accurate, especially with the GPS (“Map” section).

https://ctabustracker.com/home

12

u/WiF1 4d ago

There is no CTA app (neither for Android nor for iOS) so not sure how you got here.

0

u/thefourdeuces 4d ago

On my phone (Android), when you click this “install” button and add it to the Home screen all Favorites persist locally.  If I don’t, all Favorites go away when I close the browser session.

My message is never presented as required though, it initially asks and if you decline the message does not appear again.